William Simpson's Blog

March 16, 2011

Love Wins vs GOD’S TRUTH

Filed under: Writing — William D. Simpson @ 1:39 PM
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

What is needed most today is a clear and accurate proclamation of the Gospel of GOD, by Christian preachers, whose lives have been transformed by the work of regeneration. Unitarian spiritualists, such as Rob Bell, cannot, no matter how gifted they are in literary savvy, tell anyone the truth about the GOD of Scripture.

Rob Bell is utterly confused with his ideal of who/what GOD is. He offers no definitive evidence that would give anyone of intelligence pause for thought, or that would challenge their world-view. He writes/speaks from within the safe-guard of speculation, which then, leaves his readers/listeners wide open to the lies of moral relativism. Jesus taught that the preaching of His Gospel would be offensive to every generation because its truth would bring light upon the darkness that men love. The only offense taken as the result of Bell’s message in LOVE WINS is by those who believe that the Bible is the inspired Word of GOD, and, that its message is infallible. In other words, THE GOSPEL MEANS WHAT THE GOSPEL SAYS

Both John MacArthur and John Piper, to name just two well-knowns, have spoken/written extensively in reference to the heresy being taught by Rob Bell. We all know where these men stand in the defence of biblical truth. They have given their lives to the study of GOD and to the preaching of the only Gospel message that has the power to transform a life. Their reputations can be trusted.
Rob Bell on the other hand, serves the god of his own unregenerate spirit and a secular mind, which is, as of yet, depraved of the knowledge of creations one and only true living GOD, Jesus Christ.

I do not possess anywhere near the solid theological knowledge of either MacArthur or Piper, but, when I was hopelessly lost in sin and wandering aimlessly through life, GOD personally revealed Himself to me through the person of Jesus Christ. This act of compassion shown to me by GOD is a work in progress which is transforming my life and has given me the confidence of knowing who GOD is and that what the Bible teaches is true.

I’m the author of “LIVING IN THE HOPE OF MY IMAGINATION”. I’ve written a book that presents a biblical account of the sovereign GOD of Scripture, the depravity of fallen humanity, and, of the only way a person will ever come to the true knowledge of creations GOD.
Unlike Rob Bell, I answer the questions we have all asked, based solely upon what Scripture alone, reveals is the will of GOD. You want closure to the questions of which today’s secular writers/speakers have not the answers for?, I would suggest that you read my book. What I’ve written will challenge your world-view, and provoke thought, as to the reality of GOD, and the purpose for all of the pain and suffering, and the struggles we endure in this crazy thing known as life. I address these topics in the chapter titled, “Influence By Design”.

Today’s popular evangelical Christianity is nothing like what the writers of Holy Scripture instructed the Christian witness is to be like. And sadly, church congregants can only emulate what their leaders postulate.

Well did Charles H. Spurgeon write when describing the man yet unregenerate in spirit, and void of the conviction of reason awakened to the call of proclaiming the Gospel.

“GOD chooses not milktops destitute of backbone, to wear His glory upon their faces. We have plenty of men made of sugar, nowadays, that melt into the stream of popular opinion; but these shall never ascend into the hill of the Lord, nor stand in His holy place, nor wear the tokens of His glory.”

Rob Bell, is such a man… Beware of wolves in sheep’s clothing!

10 Comments »

  1. I may not agree with everything Rob Bell teaches, but I’m so much more interested in following a God who leaves rooms for questions and mystery than one who has followers who have him all figured out- as you seem to have done.

    I believe you’ll be in heaven, and I think Rob Bell will be, too- because we’re not granted admission based on sound theology or doctrine, but based on having a relationship and belief in the God-man Jesus Christ.

    Comment by Megan — March 16, 2011 @ 3:48 PM | Reply

    • Well said. Just not sure how important jesus is to our soul’s post-life future.

      Comment by Anna — March 17, 2011 @ 3:52 AM | Reply

    • Why is it people are so afraid to stand up for solid Biblical truth. No one is attacking Rob Bell the person, just his false gospel. Are we not to stand up for truth? Are we so afraid of offending other people that we are scolded for defending the clear message of the True Gospel? Quite frankly, I’m tired of having to “defend” my defense of the Bible.

      Comment by Greg Diehl — March 18, 2011 @ 12:41 AM | Reply

  2. For me I will read the word of GOD and let the Holy Spirit guide me in ALL Truth which is the Word of GOD. We must Humble ourselves under the hand of GOD and he will Exalt us in due time.

    Hebrews 4:12 lets me know how Powerful the Word of GOD is.

    Comment by Larry Owens — March 16, 2011 @ 5:16 PM | Reply

  3. I think throwing the label “popular opinion” on what Bell does is for an excuse to discredited what he has to say. I hardly think the kind of open and questioning thinking he shares with us is “Popular” in the eyes of the mainstream. What “popular opinion anyway? it’s merely a label put on things by the media so we associate them with neat little catagories. Which is also what religious doctrine does too. Which is why I’m not religious anymore. Because who is that neat in their beliefs? (Besides those who do not question those beliefs handed to them by parents and elders) I do not believe we were meant to be that simple as human, spiritual beings. Therefore I believe there is room for all theology in this world. Therefore there is plently of room for a refreshing voice like Rob Bell who is at least, honest enough to admit that “God” is a hard concept to wrap you mind around and he/it/she is hard to relate to. Now that is a theologian I can respect! You know why? Because it’s more honesty then I have ever experience from any clergy in any church I’ve ever was a part of.

    Comment by Anna — March 17, 2011 @ 4:00 AM | Reply

  4. WilliamDSimpson
    An honest objective review. https://wsimpson.wordpress.com/2011/03/16/love-wins-is-rob-bell-at-his-best/
    Love Wins, Is, Rob Bell At His Best

    The link is what brought me here. The sentence the title of this blog.

    They’re both (apparently intentionally) quite deceptive. Is deception acceptable in the spread of the true gospel ?

    Comment by Ben Goddard — April 1, 2011 @ 9:14 PM | Reply

    • Agree with WDS. Starting off with “Utterly confused…”, you lay out a thinly veneered “discussion” leading directly to your “credentials” and vilification of R. Bell. I don’t understand the source of your confusion unless your statement is to put us in a state of supposition.

      It is our job to “rightly discern the Word of truth”. Indeed, it is the responsibility of some to “sound the alarm”. But do so with great carefulness and trembling.

      “And further, my son, be admonished by these. Of making many books there is no end, and much study is wearisome to the flesh. Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter: Fear God and keep His commandments, For this is man’s all. For God will bring every work into judgment, Including every secret thing, Whether good or evil.” (Ecc 12:12-14 NKJV)

      Comment by MHale — April 5, 2011 @ 1:29 PM | Reply

  5. Hi all, I am an Australian atheist, I have lived a good life, I work with people with intellectual disabilities, I donate to charities, I am caring and open to people. Will your god let me into heaven, or does my disbelief shut the gate to me, even though I am a decent human being ?

    Comment by Simon — April 7, 2011 @ 3:45 AM | Reply

    • Simon,

      Good deeds are commendable and we should strive to help people, for this is the command GOD has decreed we follow. For what you do, I thank you.
      As for the Lord GOD, Jesus Christ, who is the one and only sovereign creator, savior and judge, you and I belong to GOD, and were created for His pleasure. Our life is not our own. This ideology of your life being your own to do with whatever you please is wrong, and one day, you will stand alone in the presence of creations GOD to give an account for the life you lived.

      On this day, one of two actions will be taken based upon the decision you make now:
      GOD will, because of the atonement for your sin that Jesus took upon Himself to suffer the penalty of GODs wrath in your place, welcome you into the eternal reward of the awsome splendor of GODs presence, or,
      GOD will condemn you to an eternal place of punishment, because you rejected the love of GOD, and chose rather, to not deal with the evil you committed against GOD.

      The good deeds you and I do for others are not acceptable to the LORD Jesus Christ, who is “YOUR” GOD also. I hope, for your sake, that you will ask GOD to help you to see the truth of who Jesus is in the revelation of Himself that was given to humanity through the book we have come to know as the BIBLE. This is the only hope you have.
      If you would be willing, my book, (LIVING IN THE HOPE OF MY IMAGINATION) available on Kindle and Nook eReaders, will challenge, and give answers, to the many false ideals you have formed your world-view around. I dare you to read it!, or,
      you can continue to argue and debate people about a subject you say that you dont believe in… Where is the logic in this?
      Again, I hope you are up to the challenge.

      From someone who does care about you. You were created for a single purpose. Dont you think its about time you realize what your purpose is?
      William Simpson

      Comment by William D. Simpson — April 7, 2011 @ 6:30 PM | Reply

  6. Thanks for your response William, your’e obviously a very dedicated disciple of Jesus and a good person. I don’t know what the purpose of humans is, I only know that we have a consciousness, feel pain and anguish, love, happiness etc, and most people are decent, due to varying levels of empathy.
    I debate people about religion as I see all religions as counter to human progress, the basics in religions are, to me, simple human decency, with no need to be passed down by gods, but the harm caused by religions has been immense. I, like you attempt to persuade people to my way of thinking in regard to religion, with little success I must add, but I find it stimulating and learn things about people I otherwise wouldn’t.
    I hope you see agnostics and atheists as just people, like you, trying to make their way in life, and in no way a threat to you and yours.
    I wish you all the best, and appreciate the offer to read your book and the care for me that you spoke of.
    Good luck,
    Simon.

    Comment by Simon — April 8, 2011 @ 3:31 AM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

