William Simpson's Blog

September 21, 2010

REASON AWAKENED to CREATIONS GOD

Filed under: Writing — William D. Simpson @ 2:53 PM

Many intellectuals have labored their lifetimes to disprove the existence of GOD. Through science and academia, government and media, literature, arts and entertainment.
Men such as Albert Einstein, Charles Darwin, and Earnest Hemingway, of yesterday, to Stephen Hawking and Christopher Hitchens, of today. Who have contributed greatly to the firm establishment of humanism upon the conscience of today’s post-modern culture.
A culture that acknowledges no absolute authority, but embraces moral relativism as the only virtue worthy of attention, the world over. It is my observation that people today are arrogant, conceited and void of reason.

My goal, in what I write, is to challenge world-views, and hopefully, awaken within those who desire truth, their conscience of reason. That inner-witness, which is indelibly written upon the heart of every human being, to know the difference between moral and immoral conduct. The behavior that strengthens a society vs. the behavior that destroys a society. This is the dilemma we face today, the world over.

Unlike the men I mentioned, I do not have the education to have earned degrees and recognition that would give me the platform and the following they have. But I do have something none of these men, and sadly, few people will ever realize. A conscience awakened to reason.

I did not grow up in a religious home. I was abused, sexually molested and raped as a child. Alcohol and drugs influenced my decisions from a very young age. I never had the opportunity to experience love or to learn how to trust.
Where I grew up, there was thousands of acres of farmland and forest, adjacent to the waterfront. Here is where my reason began to be exercised.

The only solitude I could find is when I went to the woods by myself. This is where I found peace. The sound of wind blowing through the trees and hearing water running over rocks was music to me. The crops growing and the forest of trees with all the sights and sounds of its wildlife was amazing to me. I explored and discovered, and I often wondered how all of it came to be.
I watched with the change of seasons how everything seemed to die, and to my surprise, by the warmth of the spring sun, everything came back to life again. I fished and hunted occasionally with my father, but I never enjoyed taking a life because it was all to surreal. I found in nature what I never experienced at home and I didn’t want it to end. It was in this environment where I felt safe. I didn’t realize until much later in life just how close GOD is in the display of His creation.

Because of my surroundings, there were many opportunities to make wrong decisions. And I did. At the age of fourteen, I nearly died as the result of a drug overdose. Soon after, I was sentenced to juvenile life in prison. For the seven years of my incarceration, I was harassed beaten and stabbed multiple times, defending myself from the many attempted rapes. It was in this environment where I learned how to hate.
For nearly five of the seven years, I was housed in isolation. I had become the monster my environment created. It was in this environment when GOD, began again, to exercise my reason.

I had been place in the infirmary as the result of a fight. I was alone in the room. While lying there in the bed, I heard a voice say, “Pick up my Bible and read it.” I looked around, but there was no one, even at the door.
The next day, I heard that voice again, “Pick up my Bible and read it.” Still, there was no one.
The following day, the voice was very stern, “I said pick up my Bible and read it.”
Just as this was happening, the door to the infirmary opened and another inmate came into the room. He placed his belongings on a bed beside mine, and then asked me if I believed in GOD. I said, “No, but you definitely have my attention.”
These were the first three, of six different times that GOD has spoken to me in an audible voice. The fourth time was about three months later. I was in an isolation cell, and was reading the Bible that inmate had given to me. This time, the voice seemed to come from everywhere. I heard, “Repentance is turning away from that which you are doing.” The presence I felt brought me to my knees, and there, GOD began His work of regeneration.

In the twenty-two years that have followed, I have been homeless, upon my being released from prison. I’ve eaten out of dumpsters. Drugs and alcohol dominated my life. I attempted suicide by driving my car off of a mountain cliff, and walked away, unhurt. Angry that even death evaded me.
All the while, I went to different churches, hoping to hear something that would help me to understand how to change my life. But I never saw in these people what I read in the Bible. This made me believe that what was written on the pages of the Bible, was an expectation I could never live up to.
So I lived hard and I lived fast. I’ve done what most people can only imagine, and only when after becoming tired of running to nowhere I wanted to be, did GOD, once again, begin to exercise my reason.

It would be sixteen years before GOD spoke again. This time, GOD was loud and clear. I was thirty-six at the time. I moved around often, and I ended up in Tulsa. OK. I was considering on attending the Rhema Bible Training Institute. I went to a Sunday church service, as I often did, and as I reached for the door, GOD screamed, “NO!” It startled be so badly, that I turned and left the premises. I never went back.
Soon after, I returned to my home state of Virginia. This is when GOD began to have strangers say things to me that no one but me knew about. Several times, I was left speechless after hearing what these people said. Little did I know that GOD was setting up what has become the deliverance from me.

About a year later, I went to a Sunday morning service and there was a guest speaker. This person called me out, and told me my past as no one could. Accurately and to the point. That event rocked my world. I left church that day and began to read and study the Bible intently. It consumed my day. For a year and a half, I went to work, the grocery store and church on Sunday. The rest of my time went to the study of Scripture.
I was during on of these times that GOD captured my imagination. GODs presence was so real, it scared me. GOD said, “I Am the Lord your God. I have brought you out of bondage. You will have no other god before Me. You will put nothing before your worship of Me. I Am the Lord your God and I Am a jealous God over you. I will show you mercy and I will love you all of your life. Love Me and live for Me.”
I dropped to my knees and cried before GOD. I repented of my sin of arrogance, and I asked GOD to forgive me of the wrongs I had done. I wept for what seemed like hours, in the presence of a holy GOD.

Taking into consideration all the injustices, grief and sorrows in this fallen and depraved world, I can understand why there is so much opposition to the acknowledgement of GOD. But when GOD wants to make Himself known to an individual, there is nowhere you can go, that GOD wont eventually get your attention. Running is futile…

I have experienced what all of humanity longs for. A personal encounter with GOD. From my youth, up until today, GOD has revealed Himself to me in so many different ways, that I cannot write about them all. What I have written about is what I’ve based the story-line of my memoir/novel upon.

I’m told often that there is no proof of the existence of GOD, and that I am a plethora of dirty names. All because I know creations GOD, only because GOD has called me to Himself for a purpose I’m yet to realize.

I’m told that I am arrogant because I believe in the absolute truth of Biblical Scripture.
Because I believe that the Bible is GODs revelation of Himself to a fallen humanity in need of a Divine Savior.
Because I believe that the Bible is the inerrant, infallible, and the inspired Word of GOD, and that it is without error and contradiction.
Because I believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Messiah of GOD, who became the atonement sacrifice, for the sin of all of humanity.
I’m told that I am arrogant because I believe that all faiths, meditations, consciences and practices are a false religious hope, that will never be realized, except for the true Christian faith. Which is the observance of the one true GOD, His laws, and obeying His command that all people repent of their sin.

Call me what you will, but I have no choice but to tell you the only hope you do have. GOD did not reveal Himself to me through Islam, Buddhism, Roman Catholicism, nor any of the other 9000 known false religious observances in the world today. Creations GOD unquestionably revealed Himself as the GOD of the Bible, in the redemption of humanity by the person of Jesus Christ, and the Spirit of GOD, who lives within the regenerate believer, to work out His free gift of salvation throughout that person’s lifetime.

If GOD had not done in my life what He has, I would be just like you. Angry at life and confused, and groping in darkness for answers to the questions that will never be answered. The Bible is the only instruction manual that has within itself the power to transform a life. No other document has withstood the test of time, by being the best sold book in world history, no other tells of future events accurately, nor gives definite answers to the questions all of humanity asks. What is so difficult about this? When all else fails, read the directions. It’s really that simple.
Oprah Winfrey, Deepak Chopra and Eckhart Tolle, Brian Mclaren and all the other self-proclaimed leaders of liberal Christian psychology, dialogue and conversation, cannot offer any spiritual truth because they have no knowledge of truth to offer.

Prison is an environment much like the life many people live in the confines of their own minds. The only difference is that inmates are confined to an actual location, while everyone else can come and go as they choose. They’re oblivious to the bars of confinement restricting the freedoms of an imagination condemned to a lifetime of ignorance.
This is the mindset that plagues world societies today. Humanity in all of their unrestrained behavior, having no moral conscience or thought of accountability. Free to commit crimes of injustice against GOD and the sanctity of human life, the knowledge of our true selves, and condoned by laws passed so the enemies of God may prosper. Few people today realize just how similar their self-perception is to a man or a woman confined to a cell. They have no hope for the future because all attention is focused on surviving today.
I can tell you this from my own personal experience. The confinement of a man’s soul is a darkness that will never be penetrated until Jesus Christ illuminates the darkness with the light of His Gospel.

It is my intent to challenge the way you think and the witness of your life’s expression. If I can overcome a lifetime of anger, substance abuse and regret, to finally realize what I had always imagined life could be like, there is no excuse for you! You can argue with me in disagreement to try to justify why you live the way you do, but the evidence of my life’s transformation and the depth of my conviction is greater than the weakness and the compromise that has defined yours!
I don’t care how much education a person might have. If your hope is in anything or anyone other than Jesus Christ, you are not a very smart person. You just might want to distance yourself from the influence you’re so familiar with to learn the truth. It’s the only hope you have.

I’ve written this to give evidence of GODs involvement in my life’s transformation. I don’t know why GOD chose me, but He did, and I’m glad. And just maybe, someone reading this blog will then read my book, and begin to allow GOD to awaken within them, their conscience of reason. Your life’s transformation will not be easy. There is much that you will have to give up, in order to overcome. You are fighting for you life. It is not wise to dismiss what I say. Eternity is a long time.
I will for the rest of my life, as will you, learn about GOD and of what is required of me as a disciple. Every day, I repent of thoughts, words and acts that I know are displeasing to GOD. But GOD is merciful and forgiving. No matter what you have done, GOD will hold you in His hand until you learn how to stand on your own, unashamed, knowing that you are declared righteous. Your life’s witness obligates GOD to help you to realize what is so hard to believe with the natural understanding. If you would only give GOD a chance. You will not be disappointed.

GODs invitation is available to all. But I believe that only those who are truly intelligent, and willing to give all of themselves to GOD, will answer the call. GOD knows the heart of every man, woman and child. You cannot fool GOD, and neither can you come to GOD on your terms.
It’s my prayer, that what I’ve written about, helps to push you to take that first step into the unknown. Eternity awaits, Don’t miss the reward.

“Living in the Hope of My Imagination” is in bookstores nationwide, and on Amazon.

Book Synopsis and secured order link:
http://www.williamdsimpson.com

3 Comments »

  1. After reading your book it shows how GOD will change us if we
    accept his Word of Truth after all as His Word states “Man shall not live
    by bread alone but by every word that proceeds out of the mouth of GOD.”

    An example is the conversion of Paul, what a Great example.

    He knew what and whom he was pursuing through out his life and ministry.

    Philippians 3: 7-15 “But what things were gain to me, those I counted loss for Christ.

    Yea doubtless, and I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ.

    And be found in him, not having mine own righteousness, which of of the law, but that which is through the faith of Christ, the righteousness which is of GOD by faith.

    That I may know him, and the power of his resurrection, and the fellowship of his sufferings, being made conformable unto his death.

    If by any means I might attain unto the resurrection of the dead.

    Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect: but I follow after, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus.

    Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before.

    I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of GOD in Christ Jesus.

    Let us therefore, as many as be perfect, be thus minded….”

    We walk by Faith and not by sight.

    Comment by Larry Owens — September 21, 2010 @ 6:34 PM | Reply

  2. Your testimony was very much appreciated.

    Yet i woonder, “can Truth be bought? or should we sell that which we have freely received”?

    According to the time keepers, back in about 200AD Tertullian wrote to those who he declared to be in “the pleasure garden that is the prison, for you have been set free from the prison that is this world”!

    When i first read those i rejoiced, for i had experienced such! Spent 22 months in that “pleasure garden, free from the world” prison for a crime never commited, and so it was that i was free, free indeed!

    You might appreciate the following:

    http://asimpleandspirituallife.blogspot.com/p/creations-genius-speaks.html

    Peace, in spite of the dis-ease(no-peace) that is of this world, for “the WHOLE(not just a portion) world is under the control of the evil one” indeed and Truth…….(1John5:19)

    Truth IS, a lie never was and is not…….

    Abide in Truth……. francis

    Comment by Francis — September 22, 2010 @ 8:03 PM | Reply

  3. gonna send this to my mom

    Comment by weighty — September 26, 2010 @ 8:23 PM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

