William Simpson's Blog

July 11, 2010

AN ANSWER to the HUFFINGTONPOST BLOG: IS THERE A GOD or IS THERE NOTHINGNESS?

Filed under: Writing — William D. Simpson @ 11:36 PM

As a child I knew there was something beyond my understanding. I did not grow up in a religious home. I was abused and the only times I felt safe, is when I escaped to the woods. The sights and sounds of nature were music to me and this is where I found peace. I watched during the change of seasons how everything seemed to die, but with the warmth of the spring sun, everything came back to life again. I did not realize until much later in life how God reveals Himself through Creation.

Then were the times that God has spoken to me. On six different occasions, God has told me to do specific things.

The first time I heard Gods voice is when I was in prison. I had been in a fight and was stabbed five times, and nearly died. I was relocated to another prison and was in another serious fight that put me in the prison infirmary. Two fights I did loose. I had no hope and I hated life. I had come to the realization that unless I changed my entire outlook on life, I would soon be dead. For the first time in my life, I cried in regret of the many wrong decisions I had made.

When this epiphany came to me, I knew change would not happen without someone’s help. That’s when I heard a voice say to me, “Pick up My Bible and read it.” I was alone in this room, but the voice was loud and clear. The next day, God said the same thing, “Pick up My Bible and read it.” And again, the next day, God’s voice was very stern, “I said pick up My bible and read it.” The door to the infirmary ward opened, and in walked another inmate who introduced himself as Kevin. He then asked me if I believed in God. I responded, “No, but you now have my attention.” For the rest of that day, Kevin told me about God and Jesus Christ, and he said that salvation was God’s free gift to me. He left his Bible with me.

I was then taken to isolation. For three months, I read the Bible several times through. Though a lot of what I read did not make any sense to me, I saw  example after example of how God had changed a person’s life. I then prayed for the first time in my life. I asked God that if He could help me change, I would be a better person. God then spoke to me again. He said, “Repentance is turning away from that which you are doing.” This time the voice was different. It came from everywhere and the presence I felt brought me to my knees. I repented that day.

It would be another sixteen years before God spoke to me again. Like we all do, I made many more wrong decisions. And then came the day when God had had enough. I was about to do something that would have greatly affected my life negatively, and that’s when I heard God scream, “NO!” It startled so badly that I turned immediately away from what I was about to do, and I never went back. If God ever wants to get your undivided attention, He will.

Then came the night my life forever changed. I had become frustrated with church and what presented itself as Christianity. For a year and a half I studied Scripture intently, to get an understanding of God, of who Jesus really is, and to try to grasp the message of the Gospel. 

While reading, I began to weep as a feeling of fear came upon me. I had no idea what was about to happen. This time God had something very specific to say to me. God said, “I Am the Lord your God. I have brought you out of bondage. You will have no other god before me, you will put nothing before your worship of Me. I Am the Lord your God, and I Am a jealous God over you. I will show you mercy and I will love you all of your life. Love Me and live for Me.” As God spoke, I dropped to my knees.  God’s presence was so tangible, it was scary. Never, in all of my life had so many different emotions and sensations captured me at the same time. God was in my bedroom… When God speaks, you have nothing to say.

There are many more examples that I can give as to the reality of God. Three times I should be dead, and yet, my life was spared. I have seen an angel once, and I have seen a demon. The angel spoke to me and the demon entered me. I don’t know why God allowed me to see into the spirit realm, but He did, and its real. You may think I’m a bit off, but it’s all true. I’ve had people say things to me that no one but me knew about. I’ve done the same to other people. I have seen happen, what could not have happened but by a supernatural hand.

All of my life, God has prepared me for the time we are now in. I’m sure science has many good things still to offer, but no scientific data can disprove the reality of a personal God. Especially when I know there is a divine Creator, who is both Savior and Judge to a lost humanity. My story, in its entirety, is available in bookstores nationwide. Living in the Hope of My Imagination is a compelling account of events that proves the Bible is a living revelation of God. If you have ever wanted evidence to prove the existence of God, my book does. It’s raw and it’s real. My challenge to you is to read it. I will challenge your world-view and give you pause for thought.

1 Comment »

  1. Thank you so much for sharing how God has spoke to you and just how real He is. 🙂 Blessings! deb

    Comment by Debbie Feller — July 11, 2010 @ 11:44 PM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

