William Simpson's Blog

July 4, 2010

BROKEN to SERVE

Filed under: Uncategorized — William D. Simpson @ 10:55 PM

Jesus said to them, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.” Mark 2:17

For all have sinned against God. What is needed more than anything, is for ministers of the Gospel to be real with the audience they speak to. America is sick with sin, because the “live your best life now” dialogue heard from most evangelical preachers today, will never penetrate the calloused nature of our culture. Their observation is, “Who are you to tell me what some obsecure book says is the way I should live?”, when what they see is the facade of Christianity in the 21rst century.

Lost is the conviction of a man who knows that he is a vile sinner, to whom God has given mercy, to redeem through the sanctifying work of His Spirit. Salvation is a wonderful gift given to those who believe, but a person, in the hands of God, is repeadetly broken during the process of being prepared to serve. Only humility can convey the true nature of God.  This is the hardest lession I have yet to learn.

All of my life, I have had to fight. Nothing was ever given to me, and all that I thought I was, has been taken from me. The more I learn about God, the more I realize how little I truly understand. I have overcome much to be where I am today, and for this accomplishment, I was proud. “Look at what I’ve done”, was the platform of my pride, but God has saw fit to break me once again. Who am I, to be proud of an achievement not of my own. Without Christ, I can do nothing. Without Christ, I am nothing…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

