William Simpson's Blog

April 15, 2010

God Speaks

Filed under: Writing — William D. Simpson @ 1:21 AM

From my earliest memories, I remember what I now know to be abuse. My biological mother beat me, she burned me with cigarettes, and she did things that should never be done to a child. And to my knowledge, she has never been held accountable. I can only hope that one day, she will read my book. I was taken from her and eventually adopted. The abuse did not stop. I remember the beatings, the slaps and the words that crushed my confidence. Is it any wonder why adults act the way they do? I have never had any respect for authority. My parents instilled within me this disdain. But yet, this is expected of everyone. It can be really hard!

I remember as a child that the only solitude I could find is when I went to the woods by myself. The farm land seemed endless. It was adjacent to the waterfront, and this is where I found my peace. The sound of wind blowing through the trees and hearing water running over rocks was music to me. The crops growing and the forest of trees with all the sights and sounds of its wildlife was amazing. I explored and discovered and I often wondered how all of it came to be. I watched with the change of each season how everything seemed to die, and to my surprise, by the warmth of the spring sun, everything came back to life again. I found in nature what I never experienced at home and I didn’t want it to end. It was in this environment where I felt safe. I didn’t realize until much later in life just how close God is in the display of His creation. “For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes, His eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly seen, being understood through what has been made, so that they are without excuse. Romans 1:20

I used to argue with my science teacher at school, even though I had no answers. I refused to believe that I came from a monkey. The theory of evolution taught that everything happened by chance. But within me was an innate knowledge of divine order, that I would not realize until much later in life.

I often wondered why some people chose to believe that the Bible is God’s revelation of His self-existence, while others chose not to believe? I have come to the resolve that what a person has been exposed to, has the greatest influence upon the choice they make. If your life has been one of self-indulgence, the chance of your understanding of what Scripture reveals about God and the need you have for a divine savior is slim. But when you have been completely depraved of even the basic dignities of human life, the revelation of God and His required submission of your every desire, liberates the captive to the freedom of peace and the joys of salvation. You don’t know what you don’t know! And until you are drawn by God and are willing to endure the pains of salvation, you will remain in the bondage of sin, and critical of those whose peace you envy.

Scripture, creation and a life transformed by the good news of the Gospel, is an undeniable reality of the truth of God. To whom do you trust? A fallen humanity like yourself, or Jesus, the Christ of God? Don’t be stupid. God Has spoken.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

